Mayor & Council


Marty Southard, mayor


Kalee Smith, Ward 1



Citizens are encouraged to attend and may publicly address the council during the meeting.

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • First and third Mondays of each month, unless Monday is an official holiday and then the meeting will be the next day.
  • 215 S. Broadway
    Louisburg, KS 66053

Marty Southard was elected mayor in April 2015 and was re-elected in 2018. He works as a school social worker for the local high school. He enjoys helping students to develop and accomplish their goals and spending time with his family.

I am a lifelong resident of Louisburg. I currently teach 5th grade at Broadmoor Elementary, in Louisburg. I enjoy spending time with my family and volunteering in the community. Ms. Smith is the Council liaison to the Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Appeals. Ms. Smith was appointed January 2017.

 Ward 1 Map

Image does not exist
Image does not exist

Lee Baer moved to Louisburg in 2012 and was appointed to the council in February of 2018. He works as a licensed professional engineer for an engineering firm in Overland Park. He enjoys helping communities and states manage and build infrastructure projects as well as spending time outdoors and with his family

Ward 2 Map

Councilmember Harris was elected to office in November 2018 and began his term January 2019. Councilmember Harris came to Louisburg in 2004 and served as pastor to First Christian Church before retiring from full-time ministry in 2017. He supports various causes as volunteer. He previously served on the city’s Planning and Zoning Commission. Seeing the community grow and assisting the city’s government to become increasingly able to serve all who live here is his aim by serving on the City Council.  

Ward 3 Map

Thorvald McKiearnan, Ward 4


Steve Town, At-Large


Thorvald McKiearnan, elected to the Council in November 2017, is a lifelong resident of the Louisburg area. He is the Council liaison to Public Works, Streets and the Recreation Commission. Mr. McKiearnan has worked as a Master Electrician since 1990, and also served on the Planning Commission for two years and has been a long-time member of the Board of Zoning Appeals. He is also a member of the Masonic Lodge. Thor enjoys scuba diving and spoiling his three grandchildren.

Ward 4 Map

Councilman Town was re-elected in November 2017.  Steve serves as the council liaison to Park & Tree Board, Fox Hall and the cemetery. Mr. Town is an active volunteer within the local Fire Department, local arts council, and school. He works during the day as an engineering technician for a large metro engineering firm.